5% Artboard 1

Unesco sites of Friuli

5 world heritage sites

Italy is a pure wonderland, where beauty and culture meet at every step. In order to protect, protect and transmit part of this heritage to the new generations, UNESCO has registered 5 sites in our region in its lists:

  • Archaeological area and the patriarchal basilica of Aquileia (included in the list in 1998);
  • The Friulian Dolomites and Oltre Piave (included in the list in 2009);
  • Cividale del Friuli, as part of the places of power of the Lombards in Italy (included in the list in 2011);
  • Palù di Livenza - Santissima (Polcenigo), as part of the prehistoric pile-dwelling sites around the Alps (included in the list in 2011);
  • Palmanova fortress, part of the Venetian defense works between the 16th and 17th centuries: Stato da Terra-Stato da Ovest Sea (included in the list in 2017)


It too was an important seat of the Roman Empire and main center for the spread of Christianity in Northern and Eastern Europe. It became a World Heritage Site in 1998 due to the importance of its archaeological areas and the beauty of the floor mosaics it houses. Among his most beautiful and important works is the basilica of Santa Maria Assunta dating back to the 4th century.


Dolomiti Friulane

The Friulian Dolomites have become part of the Unesco heritage because they are considered the most uncontaminated part of the entire Dolomites group. They are also considered a paradise for hikers and ski mountaineers, but also for fans of Nordic walking, free climbing and ice climbing. They have different paths and routes that are always well-kept that allow you to follow different itineraries from refuge to refuge.


Cividale del Friuli

The ducal city was founded in 568 AD. by Julius Caesar with the name of Forum Iulii. Cividale became the seat of the first Lombard duchy in Italy and, for some centuries, also the residence of the Patriarchs of Aquileia. The city, therefore, preserves many Lombard testimonies, including the famous early medieval temple which can still be visited.

Cividale del Friuli

Palù di Livenza

This Unesco site is located in the province of Pordenone, in the humid and marshy area that extends between the municipalities of Caneva and Polcenigo. Here, in the area of ​​the sources of the river Livenza, is the pile-dwelling site of the Palù di Livenza. This area has been inhabited since the Paleolithic and during the final phase of the Neolithic a pile-dwelling settlement developed here. The Palù di Livenza was inscribed on the Unesco World Heritage list in 2011 and, thanks to excavations and research, many ancient materials have been recovered over the years, such as stone tools, ceramic fragments and wooden remains.

Palu di Livenza


The fifth site recognized as a World Heritage Site is Palmanova, built in 1593 by the Republic of Venice. It is a very well preserved fortress-city and became part of Unesco in 2017. The city of Palmanova is famous for its plant of a perfect nine-pointed star, for its monumental entrance doors and for the circles of fortification. Also worth visiting is Piazza Grande, a vast parade ground located in the center of the fortress.


Want to have a relaxing vacation?

Book your Stay!

Reserve your stay at Gelindo Country Resort!
Fill out the form fields and check out the offers Gelindo has tailored for you!

Would you like to get a personalized quote?
Fill out the request form to receive your free quote!
Get the quote